Theme Song

The majority of television shows have some sort of opening credits that involve music. Some of which that will get stuck in your head or are easy to memorize. The theme song to a show is very important and can make or break a show. If a show has a terrible theme song, who is going to want to watch that? It could be a very good show, but the first two minutes could really turn a person off. The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air theme song was written and performed by Will Smith himself. This song is easy to memorize because of how catchy it is, unlike other songs that get stuck in your head because of how annoying they are (Spongebob Squarepants). Seriously, who likes a song where the same two words are yelled throughout? The theme for The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air is a rap of sorts. Compared to Will Smith’s past raps, this is a great improvement. In other words, I actually like this one. The video that goes a long with it lets people that know that what they are about to watch will be quite humorous.

The song starts off by talking about his real life when he grew up in West Philadelphia. Unfortunately for him, he got in one little fight that scared his mother into sending him to Bel-Air. We find out in the actual show that his mother does not look like the one in the intro. She is much younger and less scary looking. The graffiti in the background is also pretty funny. Will then goes on to make his way to Bel-Air where he tells the taxi driver he smells and walks to the front door of the mansion acting like a fool.

For those of you that don’t know, there is actually an extended version of the theme song only played in the first few episodes. In the extended version we actually see Will take a plane instead of just assuming he drove the taxi from Pennsylvania to California. On the plane, he gets some Grade-A treatment from the very attractive flight attendants. This also gives a hint of what to expect from the show itself;  Will is a ladies man.

The theme song isn’t just memorable, but gives a taste of what the show is about. Unlike most theme songs, it does not go through each main character awkwardly smiling or laughing at the camera (Home Improvement). If for some reason you have never heard the theme song of The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air, I’m not quick to judge but I do suggest you listen to it immediately.

Next Post
Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Deante

     /  April 9, 2012

    I love the theme song for this show. It is so catchy and it gets stuck in your head all day. I always liked how it starts the show and gets you in the mood for laughing and having a good time. Do I get cool points for knowing about the extended version?

    Reply
  2. You are completely right, theme shows play a huge role in the popularity of television shows. Fresh Prince has the best one. Everyone I know, even my boy friend who barely watches any television, knows the theme song. It’s also one of the most spoofed off songs ever. Freshman year when I was apart of RHA not only did Mell but Creswell also had the theme song to their dorms as Fresh Prince.

    Reply
  3. Yes I Love this theme song. I was actually talking about it the other day for some reason, which proves your point – it really stays with you. I haven’t seen this show in probably 2 or 3 years but I can still remember every line to the theme song. PS creative blog name!

    Reply
  4. I love this show…and its theme song! I’m pretty sure most of us who grew up in the 90s can still sing along to the Fresh Prince theme song, and know almost every word. I really enjoy reading your posts!

    Reply
  5. I believe the “Fresh Prince” theme song played a huge role in this shows success at the time of airing and extended it’s success into syndication. I just listened to the extended song on Youtube, I didn’t watch the video, just listened and so be honest, it really is the type of quirky song that could exist on it’s own, very similar to “Good Day” by Nappy Roots.

    Reply
  6. “Compared to Will Smith’s past raps, this is a great improvement.” Ha! I love Will Smith but you have a point. And yeah this song definitely sticks. I know every word and I haven’t watched the show in quite a while.

    Reply
  7. Being able to join in if someone starts the first verse to this show is a useful skill for making and maintaining friendships. I was in Philadelphia this summer, and I don’t know how many times it came up.

    Reply
  8. I actually loved some of Will’s early raps! He and “DJ Jazzy Jeff” were a great team. I guess he lost his edge somewhere along the way before he tried to make a come back with “Gettin’ Jiggy With It.” Ouch. And just as a reply to the comment above, I think “Good Day” is considerably darker than this and might not be synonymous with this kind of quirk.

    Reply
  9. oliviaheighten

     /  April 30, 2012

    I love that you dedicated a whole post to the theme song. As you said, the theme song plays a huge role in a show’s overall success. Although I haven’t seen the show in years, I still find myself singing that song if I hear something that reminds me of the show. Great post!

    Reply
  10. Everyone knows this theme song. I never really watched the show and I even knew the theme song. The song was definitely a part of the reason why the show was so popular and it’s cool to read that Will Smith wrote it himself.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

